Search Site

This search form uses an instant search feature. As you type, search results will appear automatically below the search field. When you've entered you desired search terms use tab to navigate through the available results and hit enter to open the selected page or document.
24 Seventh-Grade Students Recognized in National Talent Search
24 Seventh-Grade Students Recognized in National Talent Search
Alan Wilbourn
Wednesday, May 13, 2020

Twenty four seventh-grade students from Fayetteville Public Schools have qualified for recognition in the 2020 Duke University Talent Identification Program.

More than 58,000 students from across the nation participated in the program that awards recognition on the state and grand levels.  The SAT and ACT assessments taken by the seventh-grade students are designed for college-bound high school students in the eleventh and twelfth grades.  The tests measure knowledge and skills rarely taught in junior high schools.  To score high, students have learned a great deal at home, by independent study, or by special instruction.

“I look forward each spring to seeing the list of our seventh-grade students who were selected for recognition in the nationwide Duke TIP program,” said Superintendent Dr. John L Colbert. “The students on this list have worked very hard, and we salute them for their outstanding academic achievement.”

Duke TIP has postponed all recognition ceremonies scheduled for the spring of 2020 due to the situation surrounding COVID-19. Qualifying students will receive invitations to ceremonies next May in 2021.

Eva Cummings, Sophia Dellacroce, and Alora Eary qualified for both state and grand recognition and will be invited to attend the National recognition ceremony in May 2021 at Duke University. They represent five percent of all Arkansas students who qualified for grand recognition.

Twenty-one additional students qualified for state recognition.  They are:

  • Sophia Brown
  • Sophie Creer
  • Caroline Culp King
  • Lincoln Gordon
  • Oliver Hodges
  • Olivia Karsten
  • Jack Kestner
  • Brayden Lessner
  • Casimir Lipinski
  • William Lowry
  • Thompson Maner
  • Marlee Means
  • Maddux Moore
  • Crawford Murphy
  • Lauryn Pahulu
  • Diego Pardue
  • Isaiah Pulliam
  • Colton Smith
  • Jolie Tennyson
  • Kai Tipsmark
  • Nora Ware